Seeking Nominations for The Charles Bronfman Prize 2013

The Charles Bronfman Prize announced the call for nominations for its annual award, a recognition of bold and visionary young humanitarians from around the world whose endeavors are fueled by Jewish values and who serve to inspire generations to come. For the tenth year, the Prize will celebrate the vision and accomplishment of an individual or team, under the age of 50, whose humanitarian work has had a significant impact on the world's most pressing challenges.

$100,000 Prize to Honor Young Humanitarians Inspired by Jewish Values

The Charles Bronfman Prize was established in 2004 by Ellen Bronfman Hauptman and Stephen Bronfman, along with their spouses, Andrew Hauptman and Claudine Blondin Bronfman to honor their father, his values and his commitment to young people. Since 2004, the Prize has received over 400 nominations, identifying potential recipients in 27 countries across six continents and representing the full range of humanitarian effort.

"Our father has spent his lifetime supporting initiatives that strengthen the unity of the Jewish people, guided by the belief that ideas have the power to change attitudes and lives," the Prize Founders said in a joint statement. "The Charles Bronfman Prize and its nomination criteria celebrate his values and innovative spirit, and are a tribute to his ongoing legacy. As in previous years, we are confident we will identify candidates who, inspired by Jewish values, are impacting communities and driving significant change."

An internationally recognized panel of judges will select the 2013 Prize recipient(s) and present the $100,000 award next fall. The panel is searching for candidates who embody today's Jewish heroes, an individual or group who has a vision for positive world change and has created a vehicle to deliver discernible results. Nominations will be evaluated according to that criteria and should include the following:

       • Individuals who created the vision on which the organization is based. Therefore,
         nominees should include individuals or teams, not organizations.

       • Nominees who have not reached their 50th birthday by the close of the nomina-
         tion period on January 15, 2013.

       • Next generation leaders who have a vision for change that will better the world in
         a meaningful way.

       • Nominees who have created a mechanism for acting on their vision in ways that
         deliver measurable results.

       • Nominees who exhibit innovation, leadership and impact in their chosen field.

       • Nominees whose Jewish values and universal regard for humanity inspire and
         serve as a model for future generations. 

"Each year we have been privileged to receive a group of remarkable nominees who represent a wide range of humanitarian endeavors, distinguished by their unbending devotion and belief in their cause," said James Wolfensohn, former head of the World Bank, on behalf of the Prize judges. "We are looking forward to learning about these outstanding humanitarians and drawing needed attention to their accomplishments to inspire future generations."

The 2013 Prize recipient will join a growing fellowship of Prize laureates who exhibit leadership, innovation and impact. They represent a range of endeavors and accomplishments in such fields as social justice, healthcare, medicine and science, the environment, education, human rights, and veterans' welfare. These next generation leaders, whose vision and strategies for change have delivered measurable results, continue to represent what the Prize was established to celebrate.
Past recipients include: Jay Feinberg, Founder and Executive Director of the Gift of Life Bone Marrow Foundation; Dr. Alon Tal, Founder of Israel's Arava Institute for Environmental Studies; Dr. Amitai Ziv, Founder and Director of the Israel Center for Medical Simulation; Rachel Andres, Founder and Director of Jewish World Watch's Solar Cooker Project; Mike Feinberg and Dave Levin, Co-Founders of the Knowledge is Power Program (KIPP); Sasha Chanoff, Founder and Executive Director of RefugePoint; Jared Genser, Founder and President of Freedom Now; Karen Tal, former principal of the Bialik-Rogozin Campus and co-founder of The Educational Initiatives Center in Israel; and Eric Greitens, Founder and CEO of The Mission Continues.

The deadline for nominations is January 15th, 2013. Guidelines and forms for nomination may be downloaded at

About The Charles Bronfman Prize
The Charles Bronfman Prize celebrates the vision and endeavor of an individual or team under the age of 50 whose humanitarian work is inspired by Jewish values and whose accomplishments are of universal benefit. The Prize brings public recognition to their work and impact, providing inspiration to the next generations. An internationally recognized panel of Judges selects the Prize recipient(s) and bestows an award of $100,000.

The Charles Bronfman Prize Foundation, a United States 501(c)(3) corporation headquartered in New York, administers the Prize. For more information about Charles Bronfman, The Prize or prior recipients and their accomplishments, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment